Garden Planning #1

We are 10 weeks out from our frost free date so I had several things to plant today. I’ve never tried to grow flowers from seed so this will definitely be a learning experience. I started two flats of Snapdragons, a half flat of Craspedia and a half flat of stock. I didn’t realize how hard it would be to see the Snapdragon seeds, they are unbelievable tiny so I struggled a bit on those. I’m wondering how many will actually sprout. I am not a pro at this so I am trying to read everything I can and I am heavily leaning on the seed packets for instructions.

I purchased a huge rack, several flats and three grow lights so this will be quite the operation once everything is planted (pictures coming soon). I won’t plant again until we are 8 weeks out.

Snapdragon – Chantilly Formula Mix F1 & Madam Butterfly F1 (both purchased from Johnny’s Selected Seeds)

Instructions: Surface sow 8-10 weeks before last frost. Do not cover as light is required for germination. Bottom water or mist lightly (which is what I did) to avoid covering seed. Germination 7-14 days. Transplant to packs or larger containers when true leaves appear, approx 3-4 weeks after sowing. Harden off and transplant out after damage of frost has passed. It also mentions to pinch back the plants to 1 1/2″ – 2″ when they are 3″-4″ to encourage branching. Harvest when florets on lower third of spike are open.

There were supposed to be 100 seeds in each pack so I planned to plant them in a flat with 72 sections. Either I dropped some or there weren’t 100 per pack so now I have two partial flats which makes the OCD side of me crazy. It sounds like I’ll be able to transplant into larger packs so I’ll replant my 72 pack flats at that time.

Stock – Quartet Mix (Johnny’s Selected Seeds)

Sow seeds 8-10 weeks before last frost. Transplant to packs or larger containers 14-21 days forms owing. Germination 7-14 days. Pinching is required to create a spray habit.

Craspedia – Sun Ball OG (Johnny’s Selected Seeds)

Sow 8-10 weeks before last frost date. Transplant to larger packs. Harvest when flower heads are full open and hang to dry.

Like I mentioned this is my first attempt at this so I’m not sure how difficult each of these are to grow, transplant, etc. so it will be a learning experience! I do know that I absolutely cannot wait to have beautiful flowers this Spring & Summer!

IMG_9993

Now that my grow light is on my little herbs are happy! Parsley, basil and cilantro.

IMG_9991

I stopped by Sherbody’s in Council Bluffs yesterday and picked up this cute new pot! I’ve found that it just makes more sense to buy flower pots than try to make them on my pottery wheel. Can’t beat the price ($8.99)!

IMG_9997

One thought on “Garden Planning #1

  1. Pingback: Garden Planning #1 | Melissa Peterson | WORLD ORGANIC NEWS

Leave a Reply

