New Bulbs

Here are some new bulbs that I purchased last weekend at Menards. I cannot wait to see these bloom. Dahlias are quickly becoming my all-time favorite flower. Important: Dahlias must be dug up each year because they will not survive an Iowa winter in the ground.

I’m assuming these first few sets will be average size. They don’t say “dinner plate” which is probably the larger version.

IMG_0253 IMG_0254 IMG_0255 IMG_0256 IMG_0257

 

These blooms should be 6-10″ wide and are officially “dinner plate” sized (and more expensive). I had one bag of these last year that came with three bulbs. Only two grew but after I dug them up and divided the bulbs I now have SEVEN. Fingers crossed that after this year I’ll have at least seven of each of these! My inventory will continue to grow over the years.IMG_0258 IMG_0259

My other FAVORITE bulb is Gladioli. I can’t think of a more simple and beautiful plant! Last year I had 30 gladioli (yellow, red and white) and I was able to dig most of them up. Those will all be planted again this year along with these new ones (white and mixed).

IMG_0260 IMG_0261

Such a beautiful site!

IMG_0262

 

I’ll be counting down the days until I can plant these in the ground. I believe my dahlia’s came up in August last year. LOVE!IMG_0264

 

One thought on “New Bulbs

Leave a Reply

